Skip to main content
Luton Borough Council

New ward structure in Luton

In May 2023, a new ward was introduced in Luton, making a new total of 20 wards.

Following this change, the boundaries of all wards have changed; none have stayed the same. This means a small number of schools and other local services now exist in a different ward to pre-May 2023. 

This wasn’t our decision – it followed a review from the Local Government Boundary Commission. The aim of an electoral review is to recommend ward boundaries that mean each councillor represents approximately the same number of voters.

It also aims to ensure that the ward boundaries reflect the interests and identities of local communities, as well as promoting effective local government.

The decision was made to re-draw ward boundaries across Luton. 

See a full explanation for this decision here.

What changes were made?

The changes that were recommended and acted upon are:

  • a new ward called ‘Poets’ has been introduced
  • Bury Park and Wardown wards have been renamed Beech Hill and Biscot, respectively, in order to more accurately reflect local communities
  • the boundaries of Biscot ward have been modified to include all the streets branching from Biscot Road, and those of Wigmore ward to include the entire Telscombe Way estate

How does this affect ward data and earlier reports?

It means that:

  • any current data you see on our website doesn’t include the new ward, Poets
  • these reports and studies will reflect the pre-May 2023 ward structure

Going forward, all new reports will follow the new wards structure.

See the Luton information observatory for more information and latest data.

© 2024 Luton Council, Town Hall, Luton LU1 2BQ