Skip to main content
Luton Borough Council

29/10/2021 - South Ward by-election results

The results of the South Ward by-election have now been counted and the results published.

Fatima Begum, (Labour Party) has been elected as a councillor for the South ward.

  • Abid Aziz, The Conservative Party - 198 votes
  • Fatima Begum, Labour Party – 547 votes
  • Markus Keaney, Communist Party of Britain - 28 votes
  • Nigel Marshall, Liberal Democrat Focus Team - 332 votes
  • Marc Scheimann, Independent - 134 votes
The overall turnout was 12.03 per cent.

The number of verified votes cast was 1,239.

The final count took place at The Town Hall and concluded at 11.45pm, Thursday 28 October.

Robin Porter, Chief Returning Officer for Luton, said: "Unfortunately this by-election was made necessary by the sad death in August, of Paul Castleman who served local residents so vigorously and with such passion.

“Whilst many of the Covid challenges we faced in earlier by-elections this year, have been less in evidence, the council’s election team has continued to make voter safety its main priority.

“Congratulations to Cllr Begum and I would like to thank those who turned out and voted.”
© 2022 Luton Council, Town Hall, Luton LU1 2BQ