Skip to main content
Luton Borough Council

New political map for Luton Council


Luton is set to have new boundaries for its council wards, to take effect in 2023.

The Local Government Boundary Commission is the independent body that draws these boundaries. It has reviewed Luton to make sure:

  • councillors will represent about the same number of electors
  • ward arrangements will help the council work effectively

The Commission has published final recommendations for changes in Luton. It says residents should be represented by 48 councillors. This is the same as the current arrangements.

Luton should have 20 wards, one more than there are now, formed of 12 two councillor wards and 8 three councillor wards. The boundaries of all wards should change; none will stay the same.

Publishing the recommendations Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said: “We are very grateful to people in Luton. We looked at all the views they gave us. They helped us improve our earlier proposals.

“We believe the new arrangements will guarantee electoral fairness while maintaining local ties.”

Forty people and organisations made comments to help decide the new wards.

Changes in response to what local people said include:

  • Bury Park and Wardown wards have been renamed Beech Hill and Biscot, respectively, in order to more accurately reflect local communities
  • the boundaries of Biscot ward have been modified to include all the streets branching from Biscot Road, and those of Wigmore ward to include the entire Telscombe Way estate

The Commission has made further changes to its earlier proposals.

Parliament now needs to agree the changes. The new arrangements will then apply for the 2023 council elections.

See the updated ward maps at the bottom of the page, and click the button below to have your say about these changes on the Local Government Boundary Commission website.

Electoral review of Luton Council


© 2023 Luton Council, Town Hall, Luton LU1 2BQ