Skip to main content
Luton Borough Council

Lord Lieutenant of Bedfordshire


Lord Lieutenant for Bedfordshire, Mrs Susan Lousada.
The Lord Lieutenant of a county is an Officer appointed by the Crown by Letters Patent under the Great Seal and is the permanent representative of the Crown in the County that is the King’s representative.
Originally appointed to control the military forces, the Lord Lieutenant’s duties are now chiefly ceremonial but still retain the customary right of making recommendations for appointment to the Commission of the Peace for the County.
The formal title is: 'His Majesty’s Lieutenant of and in the County of Bedfordshire'. The formal address is 'His Majesty’s Lieutenant' but, less formally, 'Lord Lieutenant' may be used.
Although the Lord Lieutenant is more senior than the Mayor, as the first citizen of the borough, it is customary to defer the seniority to the Mayor when in Luton at a mayoral function.
Click here to find out more about the current Lord Lieutenant for Bedfordshire is Mrs Susan Lousada. On this page you can find out more about the duties, engagements, honours and awards of current and previous Lord Lieutenants.

  • 2012-2022 Helen Nellis CVO CStJ
  • 1991-2012 Sir Samuel Whitbread KCVO JP
  • 1978-1991 Lieutenant Colonel Hanmer Cecil Hanbury
  • 1957-1978 Major Simon Whitbread
  • 1943-1957 Lieutenant Colonel Dealtry C Part
  • 1936-1943 George, 1st Baron Luke
  • 1912-1936 Samuel Howard Whitbread
  • 1905-1912 Beauchamp, 16th Baron St John
  • 1861-1905 Francis, 7th Earl Cowper
  • 1859-1861 Francis, 7th Duke of Bedford
  • 1818-1859 Thomas, 3rd Baron Grantham, afterwards 2nd Earl de Grey and 5th Baron Lucas
  • 1771-1818 John, 2nd Earl of Upper Ossory (died 1818)
  • 1747-1771 John, 4th Duke of Bedford (died 1771)
  • 1711-1740 Henry, 1st Duke of Kent (died 1740)
  • 1701-1711 Wriothesley, 2nd Duke of Bedford (died 1711)
  • 1700-1701 Lord Edward Russell during minority of Wriothesley, 2nd Duke of Bedford
  • 1689-1700 William, 5th Earl and 1st Duke of Bedford (died 1700)
  • 1685-1688 Thomas, 2nd Earl of Ailesbury
  • 1667-1685 Robert, 1st Earl of Ailesbury (died 1685)
  • 1646-1651 Henry, 10th Earl of Kent (died 1651)
  • 1643-1646 Oliver, 4th Baron St John of Bletso, 1st Earl Bolingbroke (died 1646)

© 2023 Luton Council, Town Hall, Luton LU1 2BQ